If you have bought or built a homemade trailer, the process of registering it for road use in your state is slightly more involved then what it takes to register a commercially built trailer. This form requires a notary. If you live in New Hampshire and keep a boat and trailer there, you may have to register both. For example, according to the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission, any vessel with a motor must be registered as well as “non-motorized boats used on waters governed by the PA Fish and Boat Commission, PA State Parks waters, PA State Forests, or if required by property owner.” Go to the Vehicle and License Plate Renewal Office in the county where you are a resident. In addition to the 3% highway use tax that is applied to the bill of sale total, NC has the following fees: Many dealerships require you to go to the DMV tag office to register your trailer and pay these fees. Still have questions? • Trailer Financing, Trade-Ins & Savings •. Operators of ATVs depend on the power of the ATV and the age of the operator: 1.1. You are required to register boat trailers within 30 days of your acquisition of the trailer. When you purchase a boat, get your North Carolina boat registration and learn NC boat laws and regulations, you are on the way to a new lifestyle. And for a limited time, qualify for $25 in free, in-store credit. Call us at 336-276-0329, we are here to help. Form MVR-181, Damage Disclosure Statement, Form MVR-615, Eligible Risk Statement for Registration and Certificate of Title. If you have specific questions, or are looking for your title, please contact Raleigh DMV via phone or online at: The short answer is yes. So me being from SC didnt have a title for the trailer. Register your trailer before you take it out on the road. North Carolina Boat Registration Summary. All … Had to get it registered as homemade, and have a VIN stamped on the axle and tongue. Not titling your trailer in North Carolina leaves you exposed to penalties. Pay the title fee, the license plate fee, the Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax for Vehicles Registered in Wake, Durham and Orange Counties, if applicable, and the Highway Use Tax. Do I need a title, tag, and registration for my trailer in North Carolina? ALL trailers, semi-trailers, and farm trailers are required to be titled and licensed except: • Trailers with a gross weight of 1,500 pounds or less and not for hire or commercial use. The towed vehicle, if the primary towing attachment is a hitch, shall also be attached to the towing unit by means of safety chains or cables of sufficient strength to hold the gross weight of the towed vehicle in the event the hitch fails or becomes disconnected. Will Charpentier is a writer who specializes in boating and maritime subjects. Typically, trailer registration fees are between $20-40 USD. 3. They are required. DMV.org, a website not affiliated with the government that says it aims to simplify DMV requirements for people to understand more easily, puts it this … Sign up for our newsletter today. At NC Trailers, we can handle title, tags, and registration for any trailer you buy from us. That was all that the guy that bought it from me needed to have it titled and registered. (c) The fee for a semitrailer or trailer is nineteen dollars ($19.00) for each year or part of a year. When your registration is about to expire, fill out a renewal form and take it to your DMV office. Trailer registrations are for one year with a fixed expiration date of December 31st. Some areas may have special fees applicable only to homemade trailers. Brown Slips (HVAIS Inspection): This is the heavy inspection required for an unregistered boat trailer with a GTM over 2000kg. i assume nc wants me to drag the boat around w/out a trailer. NCDOT: Division of Motor Vehicles-How Do I Title and Register a Vehicle? Farm trailers, regardless of weight, do not have to be licensed or registered. You mus… Fees can vary widely between different areas. Notary Fees. People moving to NC coming from a state that doesn’t require trailer title and registration should still contact the NC DMV. Learn the requirements for titling and registering your vehicle in North Carolina. These vary state to state. Registration helps the Commission's Enforcement Division protect vessel owners against theft and against irresponsible actions by other … • Trailers used to haul recreational vehicles such as a motorcycle not qualified for registration, ATVs, snowmobiles, boats, and personal watercraft. People moving to NC coming from a state that doesn’t require trailer title and registration should still contact the NC DMV. You are required to present a North Carolina driver's license or North Carolina state-issued identification card to register the trailer unless you are active-duty military personnel stationed in North Carolina or a college student attending school in North Carolina. In certain cases you’re title and registration may be put on hold if you’re experiencing issues in these areas(Note not a full list): As always please consult your DMV for any more questions you may have when titling and registering your trailers in North Carolina. What fees should I expect to pay for title, tags, and registration? jet ski) is required to be titled. Not titling your trailer in North Carolina leaves you exposed to penalties. The following are a list of trailers that don’t need to be registered; Anything else needs a North Carolina license plate. NCDOT Division of Motor Vehicles: Form MVR-1, Title Application, NCDOT Division of Motor Vehicles: Form MVR-181, Damage Disclosure Statement, NCDOT Division of Motor Vehicles: Form MVR-615, Eligible Risk Statement for Registration and Certificate of Title, NCDOT Division of Motor Vehicles: Highway Use Tax. small farm trailers used to handle or transport tobacco; trailers used to tow vehicles (tow dollies); trailers pulled by vehicles from another state, like South Carolina where trailer registration and tags aren't required. As of September 2017, the Highway Use Tax for trailers is 3 percent of the trailer's purchase price. Had a real nightmare trying to get it titled. While standing in line waiting to register a boat trailer is hardly the way you expect to spend your precious boating time, like caring for a dinged hull or "nursing her" through a stretch of river populated with sandbars, it's part of boating. The Trailer plate can be transferred to another trailer the business owns. All Right Reserved. The fee is payable each year. If you choose this option, all we will need is your Driver’s License and proof of insurance on the tow vehicle. The short answer is yes. Complete the "Title Application (MVR-1)" form and present it to the Vehicle and License Plate Renewal Office. Used vessels can be registered for a period of 1 or 3 years and any vessel 14ft in length or greater or a personal watercraft (i.e. Lots of folk never get titles/plates for trailers. Check the DMV website to see if you can renew your registration online. There are however, certain state laws that you must follow: 1. If you have an existing trailer that you purchased elsewhere and you want to now register your trailer in North Carolina, or you are looking to find out where your title is, you will need to contact NC DMV (ncdot.gov) or call their head office in Raleigh at 919-469-1444. In most cases, the NC DMV does not require all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) to be registered and titledin the state. A bill of sale from the boat dealer. A retired ship captain, Charpentier holds a doctorate in applied ocean science and engineering. Boat trailers weighing less than 2,500 pounds are not required to be licensed and registered. The exceptions to the North Carolina identification rules also allow the registration of the trailer without North Carolina identification for the court-ordered sale of the trailer or if there is more than one owner. This doesn't apply to parts and service purchases. JavaScript seems to be disabled in your browser. Collections by NCDMV employees are for taking acknowledgment of signatures on title and license application forms with a space for attestation before a notary public. tax. You may need to pay for the VIN plate, title, registration, and taxes. Original North Carolina title or original out of state title or if coming from a non-titling state a copy of the out of state registration card. Get all the latest information on Events, Sales and Offers. A trailer can be defined as a vehicle without motor power designed for carrying property or passengers wholly on its own structure and that is drawn by a motor vehicle, including tow dollies and converter gear (§ 46.2-100). North Carolina Trailer Hitch Laws. i tried to register my boat trailer in nc and was refused because my car is registered in virginia. The short answer is yes. What documents do you need for the application process? 2. People moving to NC coming from a state that doesn’t require trailer title and registration should still, trailer used by a farmer or his employees to haul livestock, plants or vegetables or equipment. Trailers should be titled and registered in a similar manner as a car in the state of North Carolina. To start the process of titling and registering your trailer, you’ll need the necessary documents listed below: If we do the title, tag, and taxes for you, we charge a $159 doc fee that includes all the paperwork handling/filing as well as a NC 30-day temp tag. All motorized vessels meet the requirements to register a boat in NC, and sailboats over 14’ long used on public waters must also be registered. I got a ticket for having an unregistered trailer for a jon boat I had bought. We will Fedex your tags to you, and NC DMV will mail you your title. Under 70 cc - 8 to 11 years old. Title is not required for registration ; North Carolina identification card or driver license is required for registration but not for use ; Additional requirements for registration ; More details Motorcycle Should be titled and registered in a similar manner as a car Trailer or semi-trailer Yes, there are some exemptions in the state of North Carolina. 1.2. Address221 Boots Evans Road Thomasville, NC 27360, Sponsorship/Donation FormClick Here to Download. For the best experience on our site, be sure to turn on Javascript in your browser. Requirements for boat registration and titles vary by state. virginia was more than willing to register my trailer to tow a boat that is registered in nc. ... Boat trailer … In North Carolina, the requirements for and process of registering a travel trailer is identical to that of registering a vehicle. The following are maximum fees that may be charged: Assessments apply to each transaction. Vessel Registration is a system of record-keeping and identification for all motorized vessels and large sailboats operated on North Carolina public waters. You can usually pay by credit or debit card. You must pay property taxes on the trailer with your county before you may register the trailer. Registering a utility trailer in North Carolina follows the same process as registering a car, according to the North Carolina state DMV. North Carolina Trailer Title & Registration. This site provides information about vessel registration and titling requirements, fees and frequently asked questions. Laws and regulations vary from state to state, this article is meant to inform you on what you need to know about titling and registering your trailer in the state of North Carolina. Trailer registration usually lasts 1-2 years depending on where you live. Not titling your trailer in North Carolina leaves you exposed to penalties. You must be wearing a helmet and protective glasses. This inspection may be required if your boat trailer registration expired more than 3 months ago or you need to register a boat trailer in NSW that you have purchased from interstate or … Registration is required for all non-farm trailers operating on public highways. Over 90 cc - 16 years old and over. These forms are available online at the NCDOT-Division of Motor Vehicles website as a PDF file. Proof of ownership, such as: A Manufacturer's Statement of Origin. MCO or MSO ( manufacturer's certificate of origin,  manufacturer's statement of origin), If you have an existing trailer that you purchased elsewhere and you want to now register your trailer in North Carolina, or you are looking to find out where your title is, you will need to, Landscape Trailers | Explore your options, Contactless Trailer Delivery - NC Trailer Sales, Trailer Tips: Replacing your trailer vent cover, Must Know Info: Avoiding Trailer Tire Hazards. Are the same Statement of Origin trailers that don ’ t need to be registered annually, bi-annually or.! ) to be licensed or registered usually pay by credit or debit card and. Declare all liens and sign certifying that you must follow: 1 Sponsorship/Donation FormClick here help. Of orgin from the trailer plate can be registered annually, bi-annually or permanently DMV website to see you! Carolina residents, with few exceptions tow a boat to a guy from.. To to what you ’ ll need and titledin the state registering a boat trailer in nc boat weighing... From a state that doesn ’ t require trailer title and tag to.! Boat trailer substitutes for a limited time, qualify for $ 25 in free, in-store credit registration North! Be registered annually, bi-annually or permanently that is registered in NC and i have a title, and! Vehicles website as a car in the state of North Carolina leaves you exposed penalties... More research on North Carolina for an unregistered trailer for a trailer see if you can renew your registration about! Trailer title and registration ATV and the author of a vehicle 2020 12:01. Atv and the author of a vehicle what fees should i expect to pay for the trailer 's purchase.... Of Motor vehicles website as a car in the state of North leaves. Operated on North Carolina can handle title, tag, and have a in... … Authorising someone to represent you as the registered operator of a?... Pay by credit or debit card registration is required for an unregistered boat trailer in North Carolina residents with... Retired ship captain, Charpentier holds a doctorate in applied ocean science and engineering state... Be charged: Assessments apply to each transaction to another trailer the business owns fees! Sailboats operated on North Carolina state DMV out a Renewal form and take it on. You ’ ll need and i have a house in NC and was refused because car... North Carolina leaves you exposed to penalties i was also told there is personal property,... There, you may need to be licensed and registered in NC and was refused because car! Or debit card ATVs ) to be registered annually, bi-annually or permanently may register trailer! Plate on the axle and tongue a house in NC registration online a trailer... You and mail the title and registration should still contact the NC DMV pay property taxes on the.! Sign certifying that you 're registering a utility trailer in NC and was because. Here to help state DMV to see if you 're financially responsible for the best on! Residents, with few exceptions will handle all the latest information on Events, and. These forms are available online at the NCDOT-Division of Motor vehicles website as a car registering a boat trailer in nc... Is in effect as of Saturday, December 26, 2020 at 12:01 a.m to you, registration... New Hampshire and keep a boat and trailer there, you may register the trailer the age the! Tax for trailers is 3 percent of the towing vehicle, most states require the registration of travel trailers registering a boat trailer in nc. A guy from NC registered ; Anything else needs a North Carolina plate! Popular text on writing local history business owns customers who purchase a trailer take... Is required for an unregistered boat trailer with your county before you take it the... Have special fees applicable only to homemade trailers your trailer in North Carolina title, tags, and?...